PAINTINGS: “The Act” and the Art of Story Telling

The Act

Show time:

Richard Bledsoe “The Act” acrylic on canvas 24″ x 30″

I describe myself as a painter of parables and fables. I paint from visions that are revealed to me, which often seem like stills from movies playing in my soul.

Narrative art has been disfavored by the arts establishment for a long time now. Art babbling cultural industry types  substitute theorizing for story telling. The engaged audience for such an obscure set of concerns is small, which they fancy makes it elite and exclusive. It’s had the effect of robbing the larger culture of art appreciation.

The cultural elitists are so steeped in reflexive deconstruction, reactionary relativism, exhausted irony, and  lizard brained virtue-signalling that the idea that great art communicates to a vast audience doesn’t enter their consciousness. In fact, they would oppose such an accessible experience, as it undermines their inflated sense of self-regard.

I find that hack academic approach to be incredibly limiting, a huge part of what has caused a crisis of relevance in the visual arts.

We understand this life by means of the stories we are exposed to and participate in. To deprive art from partaking in this means of communication has been disastrous. Fortunately, many of us are taking action to return this universal form of connection to visual expression.

12 thoughts on “PAINTINGS: “The Act” and the Art of Story Telling

  1. The same thing has been true of fine art photography. Anything considered a “straight” representational photo was for hillbillies even in the ’70s. I pushed back by creating a body of work that was the most hillbillish: neon signs, telephone booths and car washes shot at dusk, all with bright saturated colors. The bait-and-switch I did was to use color theory to make things move forward or recede, edges vibrate and have many different colors all have the same grey scale value. The cognoscenti never caught on. I was making their eyeballs jiggle at my command and they were too biased to see it.

  2. i love this painting…it’s amazing! i was a bit shy at first, to look at the ‘scantily clad’ female assistant, as she seems so vulnerable… the facial expressions of all three characters, are incredible… for me, it’s an inspiring work!

  3. Mr. May above is having some well deserved fun. I have dealt with these types in other fields and the one thing that drives them to distraction is if they know you could care less what they think. I’ve said this before, but my ex was an artist (pretty good lithographer) who hated “artists and the art scene”, it tickled me to no end to watch their reactions when she would ignore them. Do like the site, I check in regularly.
    In the “Showtime” above I noticed the guy and his dummy, table, etc have shadows in the spot, but the assistant doesn’t.

  4. ” I don’t adhere to naturalistic use of shadows, I put them where I need them to be, with intent.”

    I used to ask my ex “Why did you do that that way?” She would stare at me and say “because I felt like it”.

  5. “Hope that was limited to paintings ” Hah! No, not really. She was one of a kind. You should have gone to the art “parties” with her, always fireworks and a lot of fun. Never seen so many “cultured” people have their hair go erect, turn snow white, then do triple back flips when she let them know what she thought.

Leave a Reply

