PAINTINGS: My First Completed Work of 2017-Son of Skunk Ape

son-of-skunk-ape

Richard Bledsoe “Son of Skunk Ape” acrylic on canvas 30″ x 40″

Starting 2017 off with an epic painting three months in the making. “Son of Skunk Ape” derives its title from the traditional Floridian name for Bigfoot. It’s well known to cryptozoologists  that sasquatch sightings are often accompanied by descriptions of a bad odor; I can only image the smell is worse if the being in question lives in a swamp.

Being a product of Florida myself, I can only assume the vision that came upon me that led to this painting is wrapped up in my heritage. What triggered the vision was a comment about our cat running wild after a trip to the litter box. I called him a skunk ape, and the next thing I knew a new world had unfolded in my mind. You never know where inspiration might come from.

So many of my paintings depict weird Americana. They are natural extensions of who I am and what my interests are.

“Being a spiritual artist means addressing unflinchingly our projections, good and bad, the attractive and the grotesque, our strengths as well as our delusions, in order to know ourselves and thereby our true relationship with others and our connection to the divine.”

The Remodernism Manifesto

dscf0966

An early stage of the painting

dscf1073

Developing

dscf1314

A sense of scale

8 thoughts on “PAINTINGS: My First Completed Work of 2017-Son of Skunk Ape

  1. “Being a spiritual artist means addressing unflinchingly our projections, good and bad, the attractive and the grotesque …”

    Flannery O’Connor, another child of the South, would heartily agree.

  2. The person left forefront. Male or female? Does it matter? The skunk ape (which is remarkably similar to some of my East Texas relatives) is it part of the person?

  3. In the front it’s a boy, I tried to give the kind of chubby almost featureless face I see on kids. It takes awhile to look really like yourself. The skunk ape is there in a place of wonder, and I wonder on the nature of that space myself

Leave a Reply

