DAILY ART FIX: Intricate Maya Nose Ornament Made of Human Bone Discovered in Mexico

Art world links which caught my eye…

Synchronicity. Today my YouTube feed decided to show me a clip from the Mel Gibson film Apocalypto, which I have actually never seen.

I was impressed by the elaborate garb the actors were wearing, showing the bizarre Stone Age sophistication of the Aztecs. One type of jewelry I found fascinating were the carved nose ornaments some of the actors displayed. I’d never seen such a thing before.

Scene from Apocalypto

When I got home I felt like seeing more Central American art, so I did a search for Mayan art news. Practically the first story shown featured a carved nose ornament.

Mayan Nose Ornament (600 AD- 850AD)

“The ornament is made of a fragment of the distal tibia, which helps to form the ankle joint, and features engravings that symbolise ceremonial communications with gods and ancestors. The central figure is a Mayan man, shown in profile wearing a headdress and a beaded necklace, who also has on his arm the Mayan glyph for ‘darkness’. He is accompanied by a skull and carries a bundle that is a common icon in Maya funerary scenes, according to González Cruz.

“INAH’s team found the object while conducting conservation work at the Palace of Palenque, an elaborate complex at the centre of the pre-Hispanic city and National Park of Palenque, which is a Unesco World Heritage site. The bone was buried in what archaeologists believe was a ritual deposit, interred between 600CE and 850CE to commemorate the completion of a building. Placed with it were seeds, bones of small animals, obsidian blades and large pieces of coal.”

Read the Full Article Here: THE ART NEWSPAPER – Intricate Maya nose ornament made of human bone discovered in Mexico

**************

I don’t fundraise off of my blog. I don’t ask for Patreon or Paypal donations. If you’d like to support the Remodern mission, buy a book. Or a painting

Learn more About My Art: Visionary Experience

My wife Michele Bledsoe has written her own inspirational book, Painting, Passion and the Art of Life.

Remodernism Video: BEFORE THERE WAS FAKE NEWS, THERE WAS FAKE ART

Visit other posts for more commentary on the state of the arts.

Please send any inquiries to info@remodernamerica.com. Thank you!

Leave a comment