DAILY ART FIX: On Giorgio Morandi

Art world links which caught my eye…

Giorgio Morandi “Still Life (1956)”

I was first exposed to Giorgio Morandi ((July 20, 1890 – June 18, 1964) in a used art book I picked up somewhere. It was a compilation, with one small art image and a brief artist bio on each page.

I read of an Italian painter who focused on still lifes of boxes and bottles on a small shelf in his studio. Even with just a small reproduction of one of Morandi’s works, I knew I was looking at a magical kind of painter.

Morandi’s deceptively simple, quiet pictures are powerful, masterly examples of painting. He fulfilled the Modernist philosophy that the craft of how a thing is done is the true subject, no matter what is depicted.

Giorgio Morandi

Giorgio Morandi “Still Life (1946)”

Giorgio Morandi “Still Life (1957)”

**************

I don’t fundraise off of my blog. I don’t ask for Patreon or Paypal donations. If you’d like to support the Remodern mission, buy a book. Or a painting

Learn more About My Art: Visionary Experience

My wife Michele Bledsoe has written her own inspirational book, Painting, Passion and the Art of Life.

Remodernism Video: BEFORE THERE WAS FAKE NEWS, THERE WAS FAKE ART

Visit other posts for more commentary on the state of the arts.

Please send any inquiries to info@remodernamerica.com. Thank you!

Leave a comment