DAILY ART FIX: BOOKS – ONCE AMONG THE DEAD

Art world links which caught my eye…

Reblogged from Michele Bledsoe’s blog The Secret Kingdom.

My wife writes about a special project she illustrated and published.

Once Among the Dead is the second book I worked on for my sister, Patricia.. and my strange little drawings have found a comfortable home within its pages. The painting I used for the cover has always been a favorite of mine… and is undeniably fitting for this unique collection of poems and stories. The first time I read it, I was left wandering around stunned for hours. Speaking to my sister afterwards, I described it in a single word: Potent.

ONCE AMONG THE DEAD

It is about time to make death mainstream. Death is seen as mysterious and feared by so many in today’s society. Yet it is a common everyday occurrence.

Once Among the Dead is a collection of meditations on death, dying, grief and loss. The themes range from the clinical, to the philosophical, to the spiritual. Raw, emotional and brutally honest, the poetry and prose are at times difficult to read. Grotesque and beautiful, this strikingly unique book contains elements of horror, hope and salvation.

Patricia Lynn Dompieri is also the author of Lemon Bee and Other Peculiar Tales. Both of her books have been illustrated by Michele Bledsoe.

**************

I don’t fundraise off of my blog. I don’t ask for Patreon or Paypal donations. If you’d like to support the Remodern mission, buy a book. Or a painting

Learn more About My Art: Visionary Experience

My wife Michele Bledsoe has written her own inspirational book, Painting, Passion and the Art of Life.

Remodernism Video: BEFORE THERE WAS FAKE NEWS, THERE WAS FAKE ART

Visit other posts for more commentary on the state of the arts.

Please send any inquiries to info@remodernamerica.com. Thank you!

Leave a comment